Victoria structure awards subject file variety of entries

The Victorian Chapter of the Australian Institute of Architects has received a record number of entries into this year’s Awards with 240 entries submitted across 13 categories from Clare Cousin’s Moor Street Studio to Peddle Thorp Architect’s swimming center in Melbourne’s inner north.

Submissions in the Public Architecture and Residential Houses (Alterations and Additions) categories have declined by 15 per cent, whilst there has been a 25 per cent increase in the Residential Multiple category.

Increases were also seen across the Residential Houses (New) and Interior Architecture categories.

The 2013 Victorian Architecture Award entries will be exhibited at PIN UP Project Space, 15 – 25 Keele Street, Collingwood, from 29 May – 29 June 2013.

Moor Street Studio in Fitzroy by Clare Cousins ​​is a contender for the Interior Architecture Award. Photograph by Shannon McGrath.

Winners will be announced on 21 June at a presentation event held at Peninsula, Central Pier, Docklands.

Winners in each category will progress to compete for the National Architecture Awards to be announced Friday 1 November at the Sydney Opera House.

Click on the region below to view more information and images about the projects:

Stonnington architecture in the running for state awards

City of Yarra architecture in the running for state awards.

Inner North architecture in the running for state awards.

Inner South East architecture in the running for state awards.

Projects are submitted across 10 categories – Residential Houses (New) and (Alterations and Additions), Residential Architecture (Multiple Housing), Public Architecture (New) and (Alterations and Additions), Commercial Architecture, Heritage Architecture, Urban Design, Interior Architecture, and Small Project Architecture.

WaterMarc in Greensborough by Peddle Thorp Architects is a Leisure Center in the running for a Public Architecture – New Award. Photograph by Dianna Snape.

A further four awards in Sustainable Architecture, Melbourne Prize, Regional Prize and Victorian Architecture Medal are selected from across the entire field of entries.

Comments are closed.